Let’s face it: running a guild is hard work. Not only do you have to fight against the creatures of darkness on a regular basis (a reminder: check the Raid calendar for the next scheduled boss kill), you have to make sure that they’re prepared for those fights, that they’re geared up… and in-battle and out, you have to manage people.
And, to be frank, some of those people are jerks. There’s one that rolls need on everything, the cleric that refuses to heal the main tank because she insulted his top-tier healing gear’s color scheme, and that one player whose comments make everyone mildly uncomfortable, but haven’t quite gotten to the point where anyone wants to confront them about it.
And then there’s the bitter officer. You know who I’m talking about. He’s not in every guild, but that’s because he rage-quit one night and decided to delete every single post in the forums before he left the guild entirely. So now everything you’ve posted for the last three years is just gone. Right?
Wrong. We have your back.
All those posts he decided to delete in a fit of self-righteous indignation? They’re tucked away in your forum safety net: the Lockbox. This is a separate forum on your site that all posts move to when deleted, where they stay for forty-five (45) days before they can truly be removed from the site.
Here is the Lockbox on the Forum Administration tab of the Admin menu.
This means that an angry officer can’t just remove all the things you and your guild have posted in the past few years. You can go back and restore them.
By default, only the site owner and Forum Moderators can see the Lockbox, so when a post is deleted, regular users won’t be able to view it. And posts which genuinely are supposed to be deleted can be purged after the time is up, so the hundred posts that bitter officer made raging about how the guild is run don’t stay in perpetuity.
Restoring posts from the Lockbox is a premium feature, but even on an ad-supported site, deleted posts will move there first, so even without a subscription you have that buffer before it is removed entirely.
The best part? It’s a forum like any other, so you don’t have to worry about a new interface when restoring deleted posts: you can use the forum moderation functionality to move posts and threads back to other forums, or merge them straight from the Lockbox!
This has been a quick overview of our Lockbox functionality. Much like our Ask Slater Tuesday posts, if you have something you’d like to see, let me know! Send me an email at email@example.com or send me a tweet – I’m @GL_Slater on the Twitter.